Matthew Bridges M.D. FACS

Double Board Certified Facial Plastic Surgeon

804-655-0400 | Schedule Consultation

Patient Reviews

Richmond, VA board-certified facial plastic surgeon, Dr. Matthew Bridges, and his staff, appreciate all the feedback they receive from their patients at Commonwealth Facial Plastic Surgery. Not only do patient reviews help our practice to learn and grow, it also aids future patients in learning more about our procedures and style. To help prospective clients find the best plastic surgeon for them, we have assembled our reviews from other websites below. We want to thank all of our patients who have taken the time to share their experience and encourage those considering facial plastic surgery to read their reviews. 

Click here to leave a review!

Filter13 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 22, 2020

Dr. Bridges helped fix my highly deviated septum from multiple nose injuries and at the same time helped sculpt my nose into something more appropriate for my features. I recommend him to everyone I know looking at getting nasal surgery done. I've had several friends who have seen him through my recommendation and have also had wonderful results that they are extremely happy with. He's a a fantastic doctor and I'd go as far to say an artist in his craft! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 22, 2020

Gave Me the Nose That Was Meant for my Face. - I went to Dr Bridges for help with a severely deviated septum as well as in the hopes of altering my nose for aesthetic preferences. I sobbed when I took the bandages off, his work is absolutely stunning. He turned the thing I was most self-conscious about to my favorite part of my body. He gave me medication that made my recovery SO easy, I did not bruise at all despite him having to break my nose in order to fix previous breaks. I can breathe SO easy now and my profile looks like what it was always supposed to. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 17, 2019

Dr Bridges is wonderful, so relatable and made me feel comfortable from the start. Thorough assessment that led to a wonderful result. Was sent to him for my deviated septum and insurance ended up covering it was so bad. He was in surgery for a good while, but dang does it look good. Thanks so much Dr Bridges! More

5.0
Review from L  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 26, 2016

Dr. Bridges was great. He listened to me during my consultation and did what was best for both of our interests. He's an ENT so he took my breathing into account as well as the desired shape of my nose without doing too much. He even gave me a discount because it was just a finesse rhinoplasty. I'm still only 5 weeks post op with swelling but when I don't have blockage, I can definitely breathe better. I would recommend him to other patients in this area seeking rhinoplasty or septoplasty. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 21, 2016

Doctor Bridges is the best doctor I have ever met. I had a nasal perforation that whistled with every single breath I took to the point that it drove me insane. I visited five doctors, none of who could help me. Doctor Bridges did what five other doctors could do - he closed that hole in my nose and in doing so gave me my sanity back. My breathing has never been better. His skills, demeanor and level of care are unlike anything I have experienced before in the medical community. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 08, 2016

I had surgery for a deviated septum and septoplasty . Dr Bridges had great attention to detail with both procedures. Dr Bridges detailed what he did in the deviated septum showing me how he took steps in the procedure to get it exactly right. I had a very short recovery time and saw almost immediate results. More

Patient Story
Review from MF  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jan 18, 2016

Dr. Bridges, I wish to express my heartfelt gratitude for using you surgical skills to correct my deviated septum earlier in November of 2015. After much prayer and research I came across the Bon Secours program and your medical practice in September of 2015. I wasn't certain if I would qualify and if you would be willing to perform the surgery I had been needing since late 2012. I also could not afford this surgery. Little did I know at the time what a wonderful blessing I would receive by the willingness on your behalf to perform the surgery, for your generosity in lowering the surgical cost and working with Bon Secours. I could not stop smiling when I drove to the hospital the morning of my surgery. I felt a great sense of hope that I would finally be able to breathe, not be worried about another sinus infection, feel nasal pressure, migraines etc. I had read you were a talented doctor in various reviews. Your compassionate heart makes you a great one because you used your skills/talents to help me in my time of need. I pray that the Lord will continually bless you and your practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 05, 2016

Rhinoplasty and Septoplasty - Midlothian, VA - Dr. Bridges is excellent and talented in what he does! So pleased with the results. Mary who scheduled the appointment as well was so pleasant to work with and my first contact with the office was positive. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 18, 2015

Revision Work After Cartledge Collapse After Deviated Septum 10 Yrs Ago - Richmond, VA - I couldn't breathe well at all out of my left side of my nose. I had what was frequent sinus infections, swollen on left side of my face and was with no energy and constant muscle tension and mucus. Miserable. I tried the turbinate revision with a local doctor Dr Lenkowski at Lewis Gale in Roanoke. Maybe slight relief. I was referred to Dr. Park at UVA in Charlottesville who told me "I scared him" he said I had 40% airflow on left and basically there was no guarantee with surgery and so he was not doing it. He said patients he works on are much worse. I clapped my hands together and left 2 mins later after a 5 hour drive total with my children in tow. Don't ever go there..... So, I prayed and thought I know, I know, there is the right doctor who will hear me and I know my body. I know I should be breathing better, this isn't right or normal. If I closed my finger over my right nostril, my good one, and breathe in I about pass out. Light headed and no real airflow. I even tried my husbands sleep Apena machine. Lol. I found a couple doctors that had impressive backgrounds and may could help me. I made 3 appointments. The first doctor was Dr Matthew. From the moment I spoke to Mary his care coordinator I was impressed and felt at ease. She was the only one that took time to hear what was going on with me. She asked me to send pictures too as she realized I lived a long ways away and with the kids was difficult. She called me back one day later after showing Dr Matthew my pictures and said yes he will be able to help you and come on in the next day. I was so thankful. I've never been treated with such care from a doctor. I don't like going to doctors actually and I try and hold out but this was killing me and I was tired of being on antibiotics every month. Dr Bridges said he needed to rebuild me nose like with an internal breathe right strip and used donor cartledge to repair the "tent". He spent 4.5 hours in surgery with me if that tells you anything. That's a long time of care and dedication. Not to mention the hospital he practices out of is like a Hilton/ the friendliest staff and no issues with anthestesia like I had a Lewis Gale for turbinate surgery. I was asleep before I got to OR. Perfect. Yes it was sore after and it's 2 weeks post op and finally I am starting to breathe well from left side. My right side healed much faster but that is because he didn't do as much work on that side. I'll tell you he also did lip filler the day of surgery and that's pros and cons, guess heal the same time but maybe if u want one done at another time u can. Lips are great! He is friendly, kind and compassionate. He is willing to try to make it better and that optimism is what I like! He is the best and I would say if you are having any trouble breathing go to him. Do not chance it with just an ENT who could mess up your nose. Dr Bridges is double board certified in ENT and plastic surgery so he knows structurally how the breathing can be impacted by plastic surgery needs. He will go to bat with you for insurance to cover it. United Health Care tried to get out of paying and Mary and Dr Bridges got it covered. More

Patient Story
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Aug 29, 2013

Although I had suffered from chronic nasal congestion and several back-to back sinus infections, I didn’t realize just how impaired my breathing was until Dr. Bridges corrected several deformities inside my nose, including a deviated septum, enlarged turbinates and a collapsed nasal value. What a joy it is to be able to take big, deep, glorious breaths again! I can now breathe freely and sleep through the night, even in spite of sinus drainage from allergies. And as an added bonus, I also have a heightened sense of taste. I was impressed with the pride that Dr. Bridges takes in his work; his willingness to take the time to explain the anatomy of the nose, what was wrong and how he would fix it; and how genuinely delighted he seemed to be able to make a huge difference in the quality of my life. I have nothing but the highest regard for Dr. Bridges and recommend him without reservation. - North Prince George, VA More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4349136
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 02, 2013

I was referred to Dr. Bridges by another plastic surgeon in the Richmond area. He is double board certified as a facial plastic surgeon, and an ENT surgeon. If your problem is in anyway ENT related, avoid a strictly cosmetic facial plastic surgeon or ENT surgeon. Ideally, you want someone double board certified in both areas. I have had 2 prior nose surgeries (ENTs) to try to correct my deviated septum to alleviate breathing problems, allergy symptoms, chronic congestion, sinus pressure, and headaches. During the initial consult, I provided the history of my problem and details of the prior surgeries. I told him, with all that surgeons can do today, a surgeon should be able to FIX MY NOSE!!! I was close to begging him to do so. *sigh* He told me he believed he could improve my condition. I scheduled the surgery for 3 weeks later. I'll admit I was in rough shape after the surgery for about 36 hours due to the anesthesia. (I may have yelped during this time period, though I can't recall. *wink*). I'm writing this review 9 weeks post-surgery. This is the best improvement I've had out of the 3 surgeries. I still have a few months for all the swelling to subside but there is noticeable functional improvement. I'd guesstimate about 60-70%. The good news, Dr. Bridges was able to straighten my septum and somewhat widen a narrow nasal passage; the bad news, my septum doesn't fall down the center of my nose, thereby making one nasal passage twice the size as the other More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 02, 2012

Breathing Easier. To Correct Malformation of Cartilage - Midlothian, VA - Dr. Bridges ranks superlative in each of the above categories. I was referred to him by a local ENT doctor in Hampton Roads who said my deviated septum was as bad as he had seen and that it should be attended to by a specialist who had more experience in reconstructive nasal surgery. That was the best advice and referral ever given. More

Patient Story
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Apr 21, 2012

I am so glad I decided to go forward with my revision surgery. I had a deviated septum procedure years ago that made my breathing worse and caused curvature in my nose that always bothered me. Dr. Bridges did what I thought was not possible. My breathing has drastically improved and my nose is completely straight and back to what I had before my injury. He is so meticulous and takes pride in his work. I wish I had done it years ago and am very grateful to Dr. Bridges. - Richmond, VA More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.